T&T Triathlon Association

Para-Triathlon is a multidisciplinary endurance sport that challenges athletes to a continuous race over three disciplines: 750m of swimming, followed by 20km of cycling and 5km of running. The sport is designed to embrace as many athletes as possible, while testing a variety of key skills. Competition categories are based on types of impairment. Depending on the category, an athlete may use a hand-cycle, tandem bicycle or bicycle on the bike course, while wheelchairs are permitted on the run portion.

Formerly known as AWD (Athletes with a Disability) Triathlon, Para-Triathlon is a rapidly growing sport that has been practised in 37 countries in 2010, with 27 countries committed to hosting National Championships starting in 2011. The competition is exciting to watch, with numerous lead changes occurring throughout each discipline and during transitions, exhibiting extremely dynamic race action. It is expected to inspire many new participants through its accessibility as a combination of three major Paralympic programme sports and to reach significant global audiences in the future.

The first edition of the ITU Para-Triathlon World Championships was staged in 1995 and they have been hosted each year since then. The International Paralympic Committee recently added Para-Triathlon to the 2016 Games programme: to be introduced in the Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.


Founded in 1989, the International Triathlon Union is the world governing body for the sport of Triathlon, Para-Triathlon and all related multi-sport disciplines: Duathlon, Aquathlon and Winter Triathlon. Triathlon was awarded Olympic status in 1994 and debuted in the Olympic Games in Sydney 2000. The sport of Para-Triathlon is fully integrated in the ITU and its member Continental Confederations and National Federations, all of which are dedicated to serving athletes and to contribute to the Paralympic Movement.
For more information on Para-Triathlon, visit the ITU's website at


Trinidad and Tobago Triathlon Association:

President: Shastri Sankar

Secretary:  Marsha Calcutt-Samaroo


Website:  Not Available